Where to start? On Friday Reception ventured out to the Sea Life Centre in Birmingham and what a fantastic day we had! Every single child blew us away with their behaviour on the trip, they were sensible, polite and most of all, enthusiastic! The children were excellent at keeping themselves and each other safe.

When we arrived we saw the penguins, they were making nests on the ice made from rocks. Next we saw the blue tangs, catfish and starfish. There were several interactive experiences throughout where the children could go “underneath” the water, including with the clownfish and sea lions. In the morning, we also saw the stingrays who came right up close to the glass, it looked like they were doing a dance for us which we thought was funny! Before lunch, we watched “Splash and Bubbles” in the 4D cinema.

In the afternoon, two favourites were the ocean tunnel where we came up close with: Black Reef Tip Sharks; Turtles and; Stingrays; and also the jellyfish, they were mesmerising.

After returning back to school on Monday, albeit still exhausted, the children have produced some fantastic pieces of writing about their trip.

We are so proud of each and every one of them, and are looking forward to our next trip out together.

Our Vision

“At Loatlands Primary School we aim to nurture children with the skills and qualities to strive for excellence and flourish in a modern world.

We aim to grow together as a ‘school family’ to develop lasting learning partnerships and the respect of others."

Upcoming Events

No events found

Contact Us

Postal Address

Loatlands Primary School,
Harrington Road,
NN14 2NJ

Tel/Fax: 01536 506404

Key Contacts:

Headteacher: Mrs L Buckley

Deputy Headteacher:  Miss J P Heald

Assistant Headteacher & SENDCO: Mrs S Roper

Chair of Governors:    Mr M Toovey

Business Manager : Mrs G Seakens

Administrator: Mrs L Biddlecombe

Clerical Assistant: Mrs V Shaw

Pastoral and Attendance Manager; Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead: Mrs H Harvey